Valerie Carter - The Lost Tapes [LP] (Japanese import, previously unre - UrbanVinylStore

Valerie Carter - The Lost Tapes [LP] (Japanese import, previously unreleased album, feats. Linda Ronstadt, Nicolette Larson, Lowell George, etc., OBI strip) (Vinyl)

The Lost Tapes is a collection of songs found after Valerie passed. Songs by Val and Prince, Lowell George, Will Jennings, Burt Bacharach, Steve Tyrell, David Lasley, Marsha Malamet, Allee Willis, Lauren Wood, Donna Weiss, Kathy Kurasch, Michael Gallant, and featuring musicians Lowell George, Will Payne, Fred Tackett, David Hungate, Bob Glaub, Jeff Porcaro, Michael Landau, Davey Johnstone, Arno Lucas, Robin Lorentz, Kathy Kurasch, Marvin Lee, and Michael Gallant with guest vocalists Linda Ronstadt, Nicolette Larson, Lauren Wood, David Lasley, Charlotte Crossley, Myrna Smith, Joann Harris and Carmen Grillo.

Valerie Carter was an American singer-songwriter who had a successful career as a solo artist and ''in-demand'' guest artist. Beginning her career at singing in coffeehouses as a teenager, she eventually became one-third of a country-folk band ''Howdy Moon''. Though they debuted at the legendary Troubadour in Los Angeles in 1974, their one album is now fairly obscure. It is notable, however, for the Carter-penned song ''Cook With Honey'', later a hit for Judy Collins, and for the introduction of Carter to Lowell George, who produced the next album. He would be a mentor to her till his death in 1979 and introduced her to Jackson Browne, James Taylor, and many of the artists she would work with throughout her career. Her first solo album, ''Just A Stone's Throw Away'' featured an impressive array of guests artists from the 1970's Southern California music scene and was co-produced by Maurice White (of Earth, Wind & Fire) and George Lowell. The album was well-received and garnered favorable reviews and placed her as the opening act for the Eagles in Europe. Two years later she released another album ''Wild Child,'' an AOR masterpiece featuring members of TOTO, Ray Parker Jr. and more, and began touring with various artists primarily James Taylor, Jackson Browne, and Linda Ronstadt.

Carter then released another solo album ''The Way It Is'' with an incredible line-up of artists and musicians including Phoebe Snow, Lyle Lovett, Edwin McCain, James Taylor, Linda Ronstadt, and Jackson Browne. While the US gave little promotion to this record it has remained one of the greatest ''rare'' records out there. Japan released a limited edition of this CD with an additional song by Tom Snow. She followed two years later with EPs ''Find a River'', Vanilla Grits, and a compilation CD ''Midnight Over Honey River''.

Valerie passed away from a massive coronary on March 4, 2017. After her passing, her sister and longtime friend, Kathy Kurasch, found tapes of songs Valerie had recorded but were never released. They featured an impressive array of guest artists, musicians, and composers including Prince, Lowell George, Little Feat members, Linda Ronstadt, Nicolette Larson, Steve Tyrell, David Lasley, Will Jennings, Tom Snow and more. In December of 2018 ''The Lost Tapes'' CD was released on Cowboy Angel Records and Hyabusa-Landings. The response was great and will now be issued on Vinyl and a special EP with Inara George will be issued as well in Japan. ''The Lost Tapes'' Volume 2 is said to be in the works.

Valerie Carter/I Got Over It (co-written by Prince)

Valerie Carter/My Saving Grace

This LP comes with lyrics, translation, exposition by Yoshiro Nagato.
130 gram black vinyl manufactured at Toyokasei
single-pocket record jacket with OBI strip

1. The Blue Side (Intro)
2. Skinny White Pants
3. Spanish Moon
4. Heartache
5. Echo My Heart
6. Baby It's You
7. My Saving Grace

1. Be Here Now
2. Somewhere In This World
3. La Vida Es Sueno
4. How Can I Say Goodbye
5. I Got Over It
6. Labor Of Love
7. The Blue Side (outro)