U-Men - U-Men [3LP] (5 new tracks, download, 16-page booklet, remaster - UrbanVinylStore

U-Men - U-Men [3LP] (5 new tracks, download, 16-page booklet, remastered)

The U-Men are one of the best bands I've ever seen. They were hypnotic, frenetic, powerful and compelling. It was impossible to resist getting sucked into their weird, darkly absurd world. They effortlessly blended The Sonics, Link Wray, Pere Ubu, and Captain Beefheart. Their shows were loose-limbed, drunken dance parties and no two shows were alike. The U-Men were avant-garage explorers and, most importantly, they fucking rocked. I was lucky enough to live in their hometown and I saw them every chance I could.

From 1983 to 1987, the U-Men were the undisputed kings of the Seattle Underground. No one else came close. They ruled a bleak backwater landscape populated by maybe 200 people. They were the only band that could unify the disparate sub-subcultures and get all 200 of those people to fill a room. Anglophilic, dress-dark Goths; neo-psych MDA acolytes; skate punks who shit in bathtubs at parties; Mod vigilantes who tormented the homeless with pellet guns; college kids who thought college kids were lame; Industrial Artistes; some random guy with a moustache; and eccentrics who insisted that they couldn't be pigeonholed: all coalesced around the U-Men.

Sub Pop co-founder, Bruce Pavitt released the first record by the U-Men, a 4-song 12'' EP on Bombshelter Records. By the time they had recorded songs for another record, Bruce was too broke to release it on his proto-Sub Pop label, so he hooked them up with Gerard Cosloy at Homestead Records. This was a big deal. Homestead had a heavy rep at the time with recent releases by Foetus, Nick Cave, Sonic Youth, and Big Black. I was sure that the release of their second 12'', Stop Spinning, would propel the U-Men into the ranks of those Homestead acts and the worldwide underground would get hip to Seattle's finest. Following the departure of bassist Jim Tillman (replaced by Tom Hazelmyer of Amphetamine Reptile Records, and then Tony Ransome), the band recorded two fantastic singles, and recorded their one full-length album, Step on a Bug, for Black Label, which was run out of Fallout Records. They became increasingly disenchanted with the direction the Seattle underground was heading and called it quits in 1989.

The U-Men had nothing to do with Grunge. They were their own unique thing. I loved them and I still miss them. I remember thinking at the time that most of their recordings were a little soft and didn't capture the power of the band live. Now, thirty years later, their records sound great to me and we are lucky that they exist. I'm stoked that Sub Pop complied these long out-of-print records and scrounged up some unreleased songs so that everyone has a chance to take a trip back to old weird Seattle.
- Mark Arm, Seattle, August 2017

This 3xLP box set/2xCD set collects the entire studio-recorded output of the U-Men, remastered, plus 5 unreleased songs, with 16 pages of photos, liner notes, and interviews with the band. Executive produced by Jack Endino.

01 Blight
02 The Fumes
03 Flowers DGIH
04 Shoot 'em Down
05 Gila
01 Trouble Under Water
02 Mystery Pain
03 Last Lunch
01 Clubs
02 Cow Rock
03 Green Trumpet
04 A Year and a Day
01 Ten After One
02 They!
03 U-Men Stomp
04 Solid Action
05 Dig It a Hole
01 Whistlin' Pete
02 2 x 4
03 A Three Year Old Could Do That
04 Juice Party
05 Flea Circus
06 Too Good to Be Food
01 Willie Dong Hurts Dogs
02 Papa Doesn't Love His Children Anymore
03 Pay the Bubba
04 Freezebomb
05 That's Wild About Jack
06 Bad Little Woman
07 Selfish