Thelonious Monk Quartet - Monk's Dream [2LP Box] (180 Gram 45RPM Audio - UrbanVinylStore

Thelonious Monk Quartet - Monk's Dream [2LP Box] (180 Gram 45RPM Audiophile SuperVinyl UltraDisc One-Step, original masters, limited/numbered to 6000) [NO EXPORT TO JAPAN]

The historical import, musical genius, and timeless artistry of Monk's Dream can be best appreciated by first placing the record in the context of its era. In short, Thelonious Monk's joyful Columbia Records debut triggered a domino effect of mainstream attention, best-selling success, and unstinting respect that led him to become one of only six jazz musicians to ever grace the cover of Time-then America's most widely read weekly magazine. Couple the extraordinary feat with the fact the British Invasion and Beatlemania were already in full swing, and the cultural significance of Monk's Dream skyrockets to near-unthinkable heights. Now it features sound to match.

Strictly limited to 6,000 numbered copies and pressed on MoFi SuperVinyl at RTI, Mobile Fidelity's ultra-hi-fi UltraDisc One-Step 180g 45RPM 2LP set strips away any lingering audio limitations to provide a clear, transparent, and up-close view of a work that inspired DownBeat to proclaim it ''a stunning reaffirmation of [Monk's] powers as a performer and composer.'' Such potency reveals itself as all the more obvious on an analog edition that affords full-range reproduction of the multi-layered complexities, challenging tonalities, and nontraditional rhythms that encourage constant exploration. In addition to capturing the wide-bandwidth frequency response and inner cavity of Monk's piano, the set conveys the presence, tones, and contributions of his support trio with lifelike realism. Forever encouraging repeat listening, Monk's Dream buzzes with the energy of a city celebrating its internal commotion and dancing to the influences that made its current modernism possible.


* Mastered from the Original Master Tapes with Mobile Fidelity's One-Step Process and Pressed at RTI on MoFi SuperVinyl for Definitive Sound Quality
* Deluxe, Numbered-Edition UD1S Collector's Set Includes Opulent Box and Foil-Stamped Jackets
* Thelonious Monk's Columbia Records Debut Bursts with Blues, Stride, Gospel, and Swing: Music Conveys a Joyous, Boundless, Exhilarating Freedom That Encourages Repeat Listening

Mobile Fidelity UltraDisc One-Step Process
Instead of utilizing the industry-standard threestep lacquer process, UltraDisc One-Step (UD1S) uses only one step, bypassing two processes of generational loss and thereby revealing extra musical detail and dynamics otherwise lost due to the standard copying process. Every UD1S pressing serves as an immaculate replica of the lacquer sourced directly from the original master tape.

Track List

1. Monk's Dream 5:42
2. Body and Soul 4:29

3. Bright Mississippi 7:54
4. Five Spot Blues 3:15

5. Bolivar Blues 6:26
6. Just a Gigolo 2:29

7. Bye-Ya 5:25
8. Sweet and Lovely 7:48