Sonny Criss - Jazz - U.S.A. [LP] (200 Gram Audiophile Vinyl) - UrbanVinylStore

Sonny Criss - Jazz - U.S.A. [LP] (200 Gram Audiophile Vinyl)

Sonny Criss' first Imperial release, recorded in 1956, features Criss on alto sax, Kenny Drew on piano, Barney Kessel on guitar, Bill Woodson on bass and Chuck Thompson on drums. The tunes, recorded in Los Angeles January through March of 1956, include ''Sweet Georgia Brown,'' ''These Foolish Things,'' ''Something's Gotta Give,'' ''Willow Weep For Me'' and others. Cut from the original Mono master tapes played back on a full-track Mono head through an all-tube Mono cutting chain including a pure Mono cutter head - as it was originally. This is a very collectable record in its original issue and almost impossible to find in any condition. Authentic tip on jacket and labels make this reissue hard to distinguish from one you could have bought in 1956. This initial release is part of Classic Record's Classic Sonny Criss Imperial Series which will include two of Sonny's other Imperial Recordings: Go Man and Play's Cole Porter.


1. Willow Weep for Me

2. These Foolish Things

3. Blue Firday

4. Sunday

5. More than You Know

6. Easy Living

7. Alabamy Bound

8. Something's Gotta Give

9. West Coast Blues

10. Criss-Cross

11. Ham's Blues

12. Sweet Georgia Brown