Procol Harum - A Salty Dog [SACD] (Hybrid SACD, limited/numbered to 20 - UrbanVinylStore

Procol Harum - A Salty Dog [SACD] (Hybrid SACD, limited/numbered to 2000)

Procol Harum Fuses Classical Structures, Rock Motifs, and Sweeping Melodies with Unparalleled Virtuosity: A Salty Dog Features Intertwined Symmetry Between Piano, Organ, Guitar, and Strings

Mastered from the Original Master Tapes for Reference-Level Sound, Clarity, and Presence: Mobile Fidelity 180g Vinyl LP Strictly Limited to 3,000 Copies; Hybrid SACD Strictly Limited to 2,000 Numbered Copies

An Exploratory Tapestry of Majestic Subtlety and Sheer Power: 1969 Album Includes ''Wreck of the Hesperus'' and ''The Milk of Human Kindness''

A call for ''all hands on deck'' opens Procol Harum's third album, and with the command, an effort that witnesses the band coming into its own as a collective capable of fusing classical structures with rock motifs via an expertise, virtuosity, and style matched by none of its peers is on its way to making history. A Salty Dog survives as proof no other artist ever sounded like Procol Harum. Stacked with exploratory themes, boundary-crossing directions, and sweeping melodies, the record proudly veers off traditional course and ventures to intrepid places forbidden to even the most thrill-seeking groups of the highly experimental era. Bold arrangements, which include strings, recorders, bells, celeste, and a myriad of guitars (many played by a young Robin Trower), parallel the cinematic breadth of the sonics.

Mastered from the original master tapes, and strictly limited to 3,000 numbered copies on 180g vinyl LP and 2,000 numbered copies on hybrid SACD, Mobile Fidelity's reissues take their place as the definitive-sounding versions. The intertwined symmetry between organist Matthew Fisher and pianist Gary Brooker, central to every song, gets revealed with newfound detail, openness, and clarity. A Salty Dog now resonates with a presence and immediacy stunted on prior editions. The full-bodied tones, front-to-back imaging, and grand dynamics inherent on these audiophile pressings elevate the 1969 favorite to landmark status. A ravishing picture of majestic subtlety and sheer power, the album remains utterly distinctive nearly five decades after its original release.

Track List
1. A Salty Dog
2. The Milk of Human Kindness
3. Too Much Between Us
4. The Devil Came from Kansas
5. Boredom
6. Juicy John Pink
7. Wreck of the Hesperus
8. All This and More
9. Crucifiction Lane
10. Pilgrim's Progress