Prince Far I - Voice Of Thunder [LP] (Vinyl) - UrbanVinylStore

Prince Far I - Voice Of Thunder [LP] (Vinyl)

Prince Far I aka the Voice Of Thunder got his start in the burgeoning Jamaican music industry as a sound system DJ (for Sir Mike The Musical Dragon), working security at Joe Gibbs'' stuido and in a similar roll at Coxsone Dodd's Studio One. As fate would have it, King Stitt, the regular DJ at Studio One, failed to turn up to voice a track and the up and commer convinced Coxsone to give him a try on the mic. The resulting cut launched the career of one of Reggae''s most famous toasters - though he liked to describe his style as a chanter rather than the more popular term toaster. First releasing records using the moniker King Cry Cry, the same name he''d used working Sir Mike''s sound system, he soon changed his name to Prince Far I at the suggestion of producer Enos McLeod.

On Voice Of Thunder, Prince Far I is supported by an extremely sparse yet heavy instrumental backing which perfectly compliments his growling voice. As is often the case with Prince Far I, much of the material is essentially Bible verse, ''Ten Commandments'' being a perfect example. The Voice Of Thunder full length also includes a tribute to the very recently deceased Bob Marley, and he even takes time to take UK skinheads to task for wearing polyster (forbidden to a real rastafarian).

Long out of print on vinyl, this 1981 masterpiece from Prince Far I is back in effect thanks to Get On Down.

A1. Ten Commandments
A2. Tribute To Bob Marley
A3. Hold The Fort
A4. Every Time I Hear The Word
A5. Head Of The Buccaneer
B1. Shall Not Dwell In Wickedness
B2. Give I Strength
B3. Kingdom Of God
B4. Coming In From The Rock
B5. Skinhead