OOIOO - Gold & Green [2LP] (Gold Or Black Colored Vinyl, gatefold, download)

OOIOO has always created a musical language all its own. Under the leadership of Yoshimi, a founding member of Boredoms, the group has recorded six albums that have subverted expectations and warped perceptions of what constitutes pop and experimental music.

Bridging genres as wide-ranging as punk, jazz, psychedelic rock, and more traditional tribal music such as gamelan, OOIOO's focus has never been to replicate. Instead, OOIOO incorporate these inspirations into their consistently inventive, constantly shifting musical frameworks. They take their love of indigenous music into an entirely new dimension by freely weaving organic and electric tones into a vivid tapestry, employing their keen sense of colour and texture.

Previously released only on CD, OOIOO's seminal album Gold & Green is finally widely released on vinyl for the first time. The original single LP edition was only released in Japan in 2000 and did not include all the album tracks. The album includes guest appearances from Sean Lennon, Seiichi Yamamoto (Boredoms), and Yuka Honda (Cibo Matto). The album packaging, designed by Yoshimi, is a beautiful gatefold album jacket with full color inner sleeves filled with glorious psychedelic drawings.

1. moss trumpeter
2. ????tune
3. Grow Sound Tree
4. mountain book
5. I'm a song
6. fossil
7. ina ????
8. unu
9. idbi
10. ?6??
11. emeraldragonfly
12. return to NOW!!!