Nobody - Prodigal Son (LP) (Vinyl) - UrbanVinylStore

Nobody - Prodigal Son (LP) (Vinyl)

Vinyl LP pressing. Prodigal Son represents a return to form for Los Angeles based producer Nobody, also known as (DJ) Nobody when he's behind the decks and Elvin Estela when he's at home. Making his name in the late 90s with sample-based instrumental beats heavy on moodiness and influenced by jazz, he quickly expanded his sound with experiments in psychedelia, bass heavy beat music and modern hip-hop. Following up 2013's Vivid Green, Nobody goes back to his roots and pillages unknown vinyl gems and re-assembles them into new forms for Prodigal Son. Four downtempo instrumentals rub shoulders with a pair of vocal tracks, featuring two the brightest in the LA hip-hop underground. Sahtyre expands on the idea that "Ain't Nothing Good Happen After Midnight" while Open Mike Eagle sums up the theme of the album with the closer "Feel At Home". The feel and atmosphere of Prodigal Son is not very far from his 2000 debut Soulmates, which is a source of inspiration for this project. Always a fan favorite, Nobody hopes to give his supporters the tracks that they've wanted all these years, while making new ones with a classic and timeless sound.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Memory Lane
  2. March of the Drunks
  3. Land Loop 2
  4. A.N.G.H.A.M. (Feat. Sahtyre)
  5. Memory Lane (Reprise)
  6. Double Vision
  7. Last Call
  8. Feel at Home (Feat. Open Mike Eagle)