Nine Inch Nails - Pretty Hate Machine (Original Version) [LP] (Vinyl) - UrbanVinylStore

Nine Inch Nails - Pretty Hate Machine (Original Version) [LP] (Vinyl)

Although Nine Inch Nails mastermind Trent Reznor became the poster boy for industrial rock in the early 1990s, his '89 debut, PRETTY HATE MACHINE, actually has a stronger foothold in '80s synth-pop. The guitar-heavy opener, ''Head Like a Hole,'' is the most aggressive track on the album and proved to be the signature song for Reznor's initial breakthrough, but much of the disc sounds like Depeche Mode in a particularly bad mood.All of the tracks on PRETTY HATE MACHINE are based on synthesizer lines and programmed beats, with other elements--such as the distinctive bass on ''Sanctified'' and sampled explosions on ''That's What I Get''--filling out the sound. Despite Reznor's morose lyrics, a number of HATE MACHINE's finest moments are energetic dance tunes, particularly ''Down in It'' and the surging ''Sin.'' Oddly enough, Reznor's fiercer--and seemingly less accessible--subsequent work (the BROKEN EP and THE DOWNWARD SPIRAL) led directly to his mainstream success, but PRETTY HATE MACHINE reveals where the Nine Inch Nails aesthetic started out.

Nine Inch Nails: Trent Reznor (vocals, various instruments).Additional personnel includes: Richard Patrick (guitar); Chris Vrenna (drums).

Tracklist .
A1 Head Like A Hole
A2 Terrible Lie
A3 Down In It
A4 Sanctified
A5 Something I Can Never Have
B1 Kinda I Want To
B2 Sin
B3 That's What I Get
B4 The Only Time
B5 Ringfinger