Mark Lanegan Band - Somebody's Knocking [2LP] (Blue Vinyl, limited) - UrbanVinylStore

Mark Lanegan Band - Somebody's Knocking [2LP] (Blue Vinyl, limited)

From the opening bars it’s clear that Mark Lanegan’s outstanding 11th solo album, Somebody’s Knocking, was made by someone deeply obsessed with how music - with all its primal, spiritual healing power - truly penetrates the soul. As a result, there’s joy in the music, as if created from a perfect set of inspirations smashed and grabbed from God’s own record shop. From the Raw Power-esque garage metal grind of ''Disbelief Suspension'' to ''Letter Never Sent’s'' rocket-powered take on Love-era kaleidoscope-psych, through the pensive subterranean murk of ''Dark Disco Jag'' and on to ''Playing Nero’s'' sun-bleached riff on Joy Division’s ''Atmosphere'', there’s the glee of infatuation running deep in the tracks. This album is less the tale of a brooding, crepuscular rock’n’roll veteran and more that of someone consumed by a lifelong love of words and sound fused together.

1. Disbelief Suspension
2. Letter Never Sent
3. Night Flight To Kabul
4. Dark Disco Jag
5. Gazing From the Shore
6. Stitch It Up
7. Playing Nero
8. Penthouse High
9. Paper hat
10. Name and Number
11. War Horse
12. Radio Silence
13. She Loved You
14. Two Bells Ringing At Once