Lyn Stanley - The Moonlight Sessions: Volume One [SACD] (Hybrid Stereo - UrbanVinylStore

Lyn Stanley - The Moonlight Sessions: Volume One [SACD] (Hybrid Stereo Audiophile SACD)

The Moonlight Sessions has a total of 25 songs tracked to be divided into two albums (Volume 1 and Volume 2) in the series. The songs include a number of arrangements that combine classical music with jazz standards for never before created new versions of timeless music. There are also new jazz versions of pop tunes like Willie Nelson's ''Crazy '' and ''Why Don't You Do Right.''

Lyn Stanley's Moonlight Sessions project ventures into new musical territory with her creative approach to American music. This time, she borrows from the classical composers-Chopin, Beethoven, Debussy, Mozart, and Ravel to breathe a new excitement into a few jazz standards like you've never heard them before. This is a two-part series released as Volume One with Volume Two to follow.

She has also added songs to this special project from the country and pop genres and added arrangement twists with jazz applications that modernize them as they delight your ears. On board for The Moonlight Sessions are her stellar cast of musicians. Piano: Mike Garson, Christian Jacob and Tamir Hendelman; Bass: Chuck Berghofer; Drums: Joe La Barbara, Ray Brinker and Bernie Dresel; Jazz Guitar: John Chiodini; Percussion: Luis Conte; Harmonica: Hendrik Meurkens; Harp: Corky Hale, Carol Robins; Trumpet: Chuck Findley; Trombone: Bob McChesney; Tenor Sax: Rickey Woodard are all on board and recorded. This project's arrangers include, Mike Garson, Christian Jacob, Tamir Hendelman, John Chiodini, Steve Rawlins and Doug Walter. Lyn Stanley is the Executive Producer with Co-Producers Lyn Stanley, Mike Garson and John Chiodini.

The recording engineers for this project are Al Schmitt and Steve Genewick. Tracks were recorded at The Village Recording Studio D in Los Angeles, California in February 2017.

''Six years ago, Lyn Stanley was a retired marketing executive wondering if she could pass muster for her church choir. Today, she's an internationally known jazz vocalist whose award-winning audiophile recordings feature A-list musicians, producers and engineers. While Stanley has carved a niche in the high-end world, her albums go far beyond clinical speaker-testing tools. They practically ooze a lush, emotional atmosphere that only happens on those rare occasions when great players are allowed to stretch out in a relaxed, inspired setting.''

''Stanley is now working on her next project, a two-album set she's calling ''The Moonlight Sessions.'' Being the restless spirit she is, Stanley has carefully devised an ambitious plan to break some new musical ground. ''I'm going to combine jazz standards with classical music,'' she explained. ''For instance, we're going to do (Antonio Carlos) Jobim's ''How Insensitive'' merged with Chopin's ''Prelude in E Minor.'' It may be hard to wrap your head around that concept, but a demo I heard from rehearsals sounded sublime.'' - John Stancavage, Part-Time Audiophile

* Audiophile Recording!
* Recorded by Al Schmitt and Steve Genewick
* Mastered by Bernie Grundman!
* Super Audio CD
* SACD Stereo SACD Layer
* This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!

Musicians for Volumes 1 & 2 - Players are different based on songs in the project:
Lyn Stanley (all vocals)
Mike Garson (piano)
Tamir Hendelman (piano)
Christian Jacob (piano)
Chuck Berghofer (bass)
Joe La Barbara (drums)
Ray Brinker (drums)
Bernie Dresel (drums)
John Chiodini (guitar)
Corky Hale (harp)
Carol Robins (harp)
Hendrik Meurkens (harmonica & finger snaps)
Luis Conte (percussion)
Chuck Findley (trumpet)
Rickey Woodard (tenor sax)
Bob McChesney (trombone)

Selections: (Subject To Change)
1. All Or Nothing At All
2. Embraceable You
3. Crazy
4. Moonlight Serenade
5. Girl Talk
6. How Insensitive (Tamir Hendelman pianist)
7. Willow Weep For Me
8. Close Your Eyes
9. Break It To Me Gently
10. Wee Small Hours
11. Why Don't You Do Right?
12. You've Changed
Bonus Track:
13. My Funny Valentine