Laurie Anderson, Tenzin Choegyal, & Jesse Paris Smith - Songs From The Bardo [2LP]

Songs from the Bardo begins with a bell ringing out once, twice, three times, as a ritualistic chant emerges from the dense silence. The collaborative composition by avant-garde icon Laurie Anderson, Tibetan multi-instrumentalist Tenzin Choegyal, and composer and activist Jesse Paris Smith is a guided journey through the visionary text of the Tibetan Book of the Dead, unfolding in an 80-minute ebb and flow of sound and words. Songs from the Bardo is a transporting experience, meant to draw the listener into the present moment and provide a framework for inner exploration. Anderson, Choegyal, and Smith fuse modern compositional techniques with the mystique of Tibetan Buddhist philosophy to make these visionary traditions more accessible to a new generation of listeners and to reveal the ancient wisdoms contained within.


Full Length Vinyl 1

Side A Side B

01 Homage to the Gurus
02 Heart Sutra Song - Gone Beyond
03 Awakened One

01 The Three Jewels
02 Brilliant Lights
03 Listen Without Distraction

Full Length Vinyl 2

Side A Side B

01 Gong
02 Dancing with the Crescent Knife
03 Jigten
04 Natural Form of Emptiness

01 Lotus Born, No Need to Fear
02 Dividing Line
03 Moon in the Water
04 Awakened Heart