John Coltrane - Coltrane '58: The Prestige Recordings [8LP Box] (180 G - UrbanVinylStore

John Coltrane - Coltrane '58: The Prestige Recordings [8LP Box] (180 Gram, remastered from analog tapes, 40-page linen-wrapped book) (Vinyl)

Coltrane's breakout year, when his mature sound first grabbed ears and his own recordings began to sell consistently, was 1958. This release chronicles the exciting story session by session, featuring all 37 tracks Coltrane recorded as a leader or co-leader for the independent Prestige Records label in those twelve months. This collection captures him in creative high gear—developing the signature improvisational style that journalist Ira Gitler famously dubbed ''sheets of sound.''

The timely release marks the 70th year since the founding of Prestige and comes just after the 60th anniversary of these recordings.

Includes eight 180-gram LPs, remastered from the original analog tapes by Paul Blakemore (all of which were recorded by renowned engineer Rudy Van Gelder) and cut by Clint Holley from 24-bit/192kHz transfers. The lavish, linen-wrapped, portfolio-style book features an eye-catching design and 40 pages containing extensive liner notes by Grammy-winning American music historian Ashley Kahn, rare ephemera and historical photographs of the saxophonist and his collaborators, including several taken by renowned jazz photographers Francis Wolff and Esmond Edwards.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

1. Lush Life

2. Come Rain or Come Shine

3. The Believer

4. Nakatini Serenade

Disc: 2

1. Lover

2. Russian Lullaby

3. Theme for Ernie

4. You Say You Care

5. Good Bait

6. I Want to Talk About You

Disc: 3

1. Lyresto

2. Why Was I Born

3. Freight Trane

4. I Never Knew

5. Big Paul

6. I See Your Face Before Me

Disc: 4

1. Rise and Shine

2. Little Melonae

3. If There Is Someone Lovelier Than You

4. By the Numbers

Disc: 5

1. Black Pearls

2. Lover Come Back to Me

3. Sweet Sapphire Blues

Disc: 6

1. Spring Is Here

2. Invitation

3. I'm a Dreamer (Aren't We All)

4. Love Thy Neighbor

Disc: 7

1. Don't Take Your Love From Me

2. Stardust

3. My Ideal

4. I'll Get By (As Long as I Have You)

5. Do I Love You Because You Are Beautiful

Disc: 8

1. Then I'll Be Tired of You

2. Something I Dreamed Last Night

3. Bahia

4. Goldsboro Express

5. Time After Time