House Shoes Presents: The Gift: Volume Six - Cream Of Beats (LP) (Viny - UrbanVinylStore

House Shoes Presents: The Gift: Volume Six - Cream Of Beats (LP) (Vinyl)

The Gift is a series DJ House Shoes started to spotlight under the radar producers. Pressed in a limited edition of 300 copies. The Gift, Vol. 6 is Cream Of Beats' first celebration of the blues heritage for the Street Corner Music label. Cream Of Beats plays a very basic style of jazz, a genre that has gone largely untouched by post-Bop advances (at least not by many beyond those of Horace Silver and the early Sonny Rollins) and which is informed almost exclusively technically and inspirationally by the essential sources: gospel and the blues. The scope and breadth of it's expression is restricted pretty much to the experiences and emotions which these sources are about. On this basis, and by the standards of 2015, it is probably valid to call Cream Of Beats' blaps "primitive". But this is not meant to imply a derogation of either the music or the man who is making it, rather it is intended to define both in their relationship to other contemporary jazz forms and contemporary beat culture artists. 'Alive' is a word that could be accurately applied to the whole album; the conditions out of which these musicians have come are hardly conducive to anything but the opposite of that word, but Cream Of Beats and the others have discovered in their music where the life is.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. The Hunter
  2. Im Black
  3. Soul Queen
  4. Give It Up
  5. The Melody
  6. Run This Space
  7. Slick & Sly (Vinyl Exclusive)
  8. The Rain
  9. Rubio
  10. Moods
  11. Boss Shit
  12. Gaturstag (Vinyl Exclusive)
  13. The Hunted
  14. Cruise Control
  15. Angel Dust
  16. Game Time (Vinyl Exclusive)
  17. Belle Isle Bathroom
  18. Tandoori Chicken
  19. Beat Rox
  20. Through It All
  21. Be Afraid
  22. Unbelievable
  23. Message Recieved
  24. Mel
  25. Soulsmooth (Vinyl Exclusive)