Halo Orbit - Halo Orbit (CD) - UrbanVinylStore

Halo Orbit - Halo Orbit (CD)

2017 release. The musicians comprising Halo Orbit represent three different corners of the map, literally and figuratively. The group consists of Grammy Award-winning bassist Juan Alderete (The Mars Volta, Deltron 3030), guitarist/synth player suGar Yoshinaga (Buffalo Daughter, Metalchicks), and drummer Mark Guiliana (David Bowie, John Scofield, Brad Mehldau). Each member brings a distinctive style and musical pedigree to the proverbial table that gels in every instance on their debut. Their debut album features contributions from guests such as Del the Funky Homosapien, Lisa Papineau, Money Mark Ramos-Nishita, Adrian Terrazas Gonzalez and Marcel Rodriguez Lopez. With Alderete based in Los Angeles, Guiliana in New York, and Yoshinaga in Tokyo, the group effectively exists in three places at once, a mindset that, not surprisingly, finds it's way into their vigorous, evocative music. Drawing comparisons to peers as disparate as Battles and Portishead, Halo Orbit mold their own breed of futuristic rock, a volatile landscape of overdriven dub punctuated by textural nuances and delicate arrangements. They capture an air of unpredictability that is charged through a fluid state of connection.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Subump
  2. One of These Days (Feat. Del the Funky Homosapien)
  3. Angels Flight
  4. Love or Lost (Feat. Lisa Papineau)
  5. Halo Orbit
  6. Warped Descent (Feat. Lisa Papineau)
  7. Brothers and Sisters (Feat. Money Mark and Adrian Terrazas Gonzalez)
  8. Trieste
  9. Roll the Dice (Feat. Lisa Papineau)