Gypsyhawk - Revelry And Resilience [LP] (Vinyl) - UrbanVinylStore

Gypsyhawk - Revelry And Resilience [LP] (Vinyl)

''Gypsyhawk is four metal dudes playing rock and roll and bringing the party every time they get on stage,'' states guitarist Andrew Packer, and there is perhaps no better way of surmising the spirit and sound of the Pasadena quartet. Revisiting the electrifying sounds of bullshit-free 70s rock, the band is a breath of fresh air compared to the endless onslaught of breakdown obsessed bands cluttering up heavy music. Marinating their wares in whiskey and weed, they hurl out blistering riffs and irresistible hooks and grooves, doing their damnedest to ensure that everyone at their shows is having as much fun as they are.

With Revelry & Resilience, their second full-length and Metal Blade debut, this vibe bleeds from the speakers from start to finish, determinedly putting a smile on your face and compelling you to throw your hair around, no matter how much or how little you might have. ''It's music for girls to shake their asses to and dudes to bang their heads,'' states vocalist/bassist Eric Harris. ''It's good-time rock and roll, and we don't take ourselves too seriously.''

The band's distinct personality is splashed all over Revelry & Resilience. Whether it's the edgy and upbeat barroom swagger of ''The Fields,'' the balls out stomp wielded by the serpentine grooves and blistering leads of ''The Hedgeking,'' the head-bobbing bounce and triumphant air of ''Frostwyrm'' or their crunchy yet soulful take on Johnny Winter's ''Rock And Roll, Hoochie Koo,'' the record crackles with energy while being wholly devoid of pretension, and on every level it is leagues ahead of its predecessor.

The definition of a DIY band, the quartet have determinedly done things off their own backs since their inception, including self-producing Revelry & Resilience, which has allowed them to retain complete control over everything they do. ''Having worked with producers in other bands I've been involved with, I know I would much rather have Gypsyhawk do it without anyone else's interference,'' Harris states. ''I don't want to get caught up in that situation where you say these are the songs and this is what our band is, and the producer says no, no, no, all wrong! That's not our band and it's not going to come across sounding like our band if someone meddles with it like that, and we're proud of what we do and want to represent that as best we can.''

Gypsyhawk Revelry And Resilience Track Listing:

1. Overloaded
2. The Fields
3. Hedgeking
4. Frostwyrm
5. Galaxy Rise
6. 1345
7. Night Songs from the Desert
8. The Red Wedding
9. Silver Queen
10. State Lines
11. Rock and Roll, Hoochie Koo