El_Txef_A - We Walked Home Together [2LP] (Vinyl) - UrbanVinylStore

El_Txef_A - We Walked Home Together [2LP] (Vinyl)

On the back of an exciting debut album in 2012 that saw him perform live at S—Énar Festival
and later with his band at Vienna's Volkstheatre, before disseminating music on Permanent
Vacation, Suol and Connaisseur Recordings, enigmatic Basque country producer El_Txef_A
returns with his sophomore album We Walked Home Together. El_Txef_A (pronounced
''Elchefa'') has crafted a work that just like its journey-conjuring title, charts a shifting palette
of sounds and moods, exemplifying its creator Aitor Etxebarria's breadth of skill.
Produced entirely in Aitor's homeland of the mountainous Basque Country, the album
showcases the talents of not just its creator who producers, sings and plays piano on the
record, but also some of the Spanish region's most outstanding musicians. Local artist
Biskonti is one contributor, whose vocals coat a brooding bed of rough-cut drums on the
ice-cold slice of electronica ''I'm Going to Paint You,'' while Hannot lends his pipes to the
moving ''You Left Us in This Physical World'' that sweep over a delicately-crafted brew of
guitars and keys. The sublime title-track turns into a family affair, with Aitor's brother Hibai
playing the grand piano. A graduate of 2013's Red Bull Music Academy in Madrid,
El_Txef_A has an impressive array of sonic strings to his bow and the Detroit techno-inspired
''Claim of Planet Earth'' deliciously rubs shoulders with the album's single, the alternative slice
of pop ''The Love We Lost,'' featuring Woolfy. Elsewhere, Aitor paints a dream-like
soundscape with the sublime shoegaze-inspired trip ''0730,'' that seamlessly bleeds into
''Every Day Is Blue Monday,'' with its atmosphere-heavy swirl of subtle acid lines, floating
synths and evocative vocals delivered by Suol Records contributor Meggy. An artist whose
music is inextricably connected with his homeland, the album concludes with the stirring
''Mugarrirantz,'' sung in the native tongue of Euskera by country folk band Napora Iria. It's
proof that El_Txef_A is equally adept at doffing his cap to tradition as moving a dancefloor
with his inspired brand of electronica.
01. A Heart for Two
02. We Walked Home Together
03. Someone Is Gonna Paint You Another Sky (feat. Biskonti)
04. 0730
05. Every Day Is Blue Monday (feat. Meggy)
06. You Left Us in This Physical World (feat. Hannot)
07. Claim of Planet Earth
08. The Love We Lost (feat. Woolfy)
09. Mugarrirantz (feat. Napoka Iria)