D'Angelo & The Vanguard - Black Messiah [2LP] (120 Gram, , gatefold) ( - UrbanVinylStore

D'Angelo & The Vanguard - Black Messiah [2LP] (120 Gram, , gatefold) (Vinyl)

The prodigal son of the soul and funk canon, D'Angelo, is back! His ever-awaited third studio album, Black Messiah, is his first album since the critically acclaimed Voodoo, bringing to an end a 14-year hiatus. The album blends 70's jazz-funk and neo-soul.

Anyone who's been keeping up should be keen to the fact that the long-lusted over project was recorded in full analog, so the liner notes' PSA ''For best results, listen at maximum volume'' should be taken as a direct order for fervent D'lievers. And what better way to experience the gritty greatness of the release than a heavy-bodied vinyl pressing for the audio junkies?

The album features tracks co-penned by Kendra Foster (Parliament/Funkadelic) and Q-Tip (A Tribe Called Quest). It's also co-produced by Questlove (The Roots), bassist Pino Palladino (John Mayer Trio, The RH Factor), and drummer James Gadson (Bill Withers, Temptations, Beck, Jamie Lidell).

''For all intents and purposes, this album is the black version of [The Beach Boys'] Smile-- at best, it will go down in the Smile/There's a Riot Goin' On/Miles Davis' On the Corner category.'' - Questlove

LISTEN to ''Sugah Daddy'':


LP 1 - Side 1:
1. Ain't That Easy 4:49
2. 1000 Deaths 5:49
3. The Charade 3:20

LP 1 - Side 2:
1. Sugah Daddy 5:02
2. Really Love 5:44

LP 2 - Side 1:
1. Back to the Future (Part I) 5:22
2. Till It's Done (Tutu) 3:51
3. Prayer 4:33

LP 2 - Side 2:
1. Betray My Heart 5:55
2. The Door 3:08
3. Back to the Future (Part II) 2:24
4. Another Life 5:58