Cars, The - Heartbeat City [LP] (180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl, limited/numbered)

1984 Blockbuster the Cars' Final Great Album Before Band's Break-Up

Mastered from the Original Master Tapes: Mobile Fidelity 180g LP Present the Mutt Lange-Produced Set In Extraordinary Fidelity

Loaded With Recognizable Hits: ''Drive,'' ''You Might Think,'' ''Magic,'' ''Hello Again,'' and ''Why Can't I Have You'' All Top 40 Singles

Overflowing with finger-snapping beats, electro-pop effects,
streamlined guitar notes, and bright melodies, the Cars' Heartbeat
City trades in efficiency, catchiness, and to-the-point craftiness.
Unlike most mid-80s efforts, the electronic effects and sleek
tonalities here aren't dated due to both the focused production and
irresistible songwriting. While a mind-boggling five songs charted in
the Top 40, what makes the record such a staple is the fact that it's
easy to imagine every tune on it crashing the Billboard Hot 100. Call
it the new-wave Thriller. Indeed, the album's track list automatically
triggers a mental jukebox. The spare simplicity and hopefulness of
''Magic.'' The simultaneously sad longing and soothing somberness
of ''Drive.'' The shimmer of ''You Might Think.'' The ping-pong
bounce and futuristic paranoia of ''Hello Again.'' The atmospheric
title cut. Heartbeat City is a veritable lesson in tunesmithship.

Mastered from the original master tapes, Mobile Fidelity's numbered
limited-edition 180g LP reissue of Heartbeat City revisit
the landmark set via a rich fidelity unmatched by prior editions.
Signifying the first time the album has been available on vinyl in
nearly three decades, this audiophile edition opens up the soundstages, decongest the
low frequencies, and shine a spotlight on Mutt Lange's pinpoint
balances and glossy hooks. Indeed, the household-name producer
would make a lasting mark with Heartbeat City, whose radio-friendly
sound, multi-layered textures, and smooth, suave, synth-heavy
pulses set a precedent for the period's hit-making pop.

Track List
1. Hello Again
2. Looking for Love
3. Magic
4. Drive
5. Stranger Eyes
6. You Might Think
7. It's Not the Night
8. Why Can't I Have You
9. I Refuse
10. Heartbeat City