Brian Jonestown Massacre, The - Their Satanic Majesties Second Request - UrbanVinylStore

Brian Jonestown Massacre, The - Their Satanic Majesties Second Request [2LP] (180 Gram, gatefold) (Vinyl)

2019 repress on black vinyl. Gatefold 180 gram double vinyl version. Truth in advertising: the Brian Jonestown Massacre's sophomore album does, as promised, spring forth from the Rolling Stones' long-underrated 1967 masterpiece Their Satanic Majesties Request, copping not only Mick and Keith's leering bad-boy attitude but also their rock-and-roll-circus spirit. Opening with the brilliant ''All Around You (Intro),'' a tongue-in-cheek guide to the mind-altering journey ahead, the record is a kaleidoscopic, drug-fueled freakout -- like the Stones' namesake album, Second Request is painted by Eastern drones and psychedelic tangents, each track bubbling with dozens of sound effects including sitars, mellotrons, farfisas, didgeridoos, tablas, congas, and glockenspiels. Travelling through the past, darkly, the Massacre arrives on the other side unscathed; their music is too rich to be merely retro, and too knowing to be merely slavish -- the Stones themselves haven't made a record this strong or entertaining in years.
A1. All Around You (Intro)
A2. Cold to the Touch
A3. Donovan Said
A4. In India You
B1. No Come Down
B2. (Around You) Everywhere
B3. Jesus
B4. Before You
B5. Miss June '75
C1. Anenome
C2. Baby (Prepraise)
C3. Feelers
C4. Bad Baby
D1. Cause, I Lover
D2. (Baby) Love of My Life
D3. Slowdown (Fuck Tomorrow)
D4. Here It Comes
D5. All Around You (Outro)