BlackRain - Released [LP]

There's a good reason why their cover of AC/DC anthem ''It's a Long Way To The Top (if You Wanna Rock'n'Roll)'' is part of many of BlackRain's live shows. Having formed during 2006 in the French Alps and with four self-produced albums under their belts (not to mention numerous gigs in France, Europe and Japan) this charismatic quartet know for a fact that 2016 is undoubtedly the most important year of their career to date. Free from past commitments, they now feel it's time to ''escape'' to new horizons and have aptly titled their new offering ''Released''.

American producer Jack Douglas (Aerosmith, Cheap Trick, Alice Cooper, The New York Dolls and John Lennon) a true music ''legend'' provided his great expertise in the making of ''Released'' and the band's previous album ''It Begins''. It's rare to hear of a renowned US producer working with a bunch of ''Frenchies'' or a ''big label'' such as UDR Music signing a French rock act, and to be in such a place today, BlackRain (then featuring the 3 original members: Swan, Max 2 and Matthieu) worked unbelievably hard, taking any and every opportunity they could find, also relocating to Paris where they could dedicate themselves to music full time. ''Released'' is the coming together and expression of all that work, all those years plus all the lessons and experiences absorbed.

Recorded in the suburbs of both Paris and Los Angeles in the early part of 2015, ''Released'' is the result of many months of collaboration between BlackRain and Jack who applied his magic touch to the whole process. Warren Huart, Aerosmith's sound engineer, along with Jack, mixed the tracks at the Spitfire Studio in Laurel Canyon.

With straight-forward, catchy tunes like ''Back in Town'' (the first single and lyric video), ''Eat You Alive'', ''Puppet on a String'', the sharp edged ''Mind Control'' or the more poppy ''Electric Blue'', BlackRain remind us that this gang grew up to the sound of WASP, Guns 'N' Roses, Skid Row, Ratt and Motley Crue, dangerous, edgy, raucous and fun with a constant trail of danger in the main vein. Other tracks suggest different influences; ''Run Tiger Run'' is a mesmerizing groover, ''Killing Me'' and ''Fade to Black'' offer powerful mid-tempos, while ''Words Ain't Enough'' brings a more acoustic flavor to the table. With its anthemic choirs and hook ''Rock My Funeral'' is probably the most Punk-fueled track of the album. All written by Swan, these tracks prove that BlackRain use their music influences uniquely, setting themselves apart with originality. Through its different approach and chorus, ''One Last Prayer'', the last track on the album, proves without reasonable doubt that BlackRain can never be labeled as ''followers''.

While remaining faithful to their roots and influences, BlackRain are a band in a state of perpetual evolution: never ceasing in their quest to climb each and every step of the long Rock 'n' Roll stairway... ''Released'' is the proof that the journey is well and truly under way, and the meticulous craft work behind ''Released'' reflects the stamina and capacity of BlackRain to create something never really achieved by a rock act from France. BlackRain is going to joyfully, loudly and gleefully saturate you with a thunderstorm of exciting, pulse-racing rock'n'roll... so get prepared!

Track Listing:
1. Back in Town
2. Mind Control
3. Killing Me
4. Run Tiger Run
5. Puppet On A String
6. Words Ain't Enough
7. Eat You Alive
8. Home
9. For Your Love
10. Fade To Black
11. Electric Blue
12. Rock My Funeral
13. One Last Prayer