Black Star - Mos Def & Talib Kweli Are Black Star [LP] (Picture Disc) - UrbanVinylStore

Black Star - Mos Def & Talib Kweli Are Black Star [LP] (Picture Disc) (Vinyl)

Universal Music Enterprises (UMe) will continue its ''Respect the Classics'' tribute to many of hip-hop's finest with the vinyl release of rap icon Talib Kweli's
four historic Rawkus Records albums, including the underground classic, Mos Def & Talib Kweli are Black Star, in a limited edition two-tone black on black
picture disc.
Mos Def & Talib Kweli are Black Star was released on August 18, 1998, to critical acclaim. The title is a reference to the Black Star Line, a shipping
company founded by Pan-Africanist Marcus Garvey. The album deals with modern-day issues, philosophies and life in Brooklyn. The two MCs had
planned to release solo albums around the same time, but decided instead to collaborate on a full-length album. The first single, ''Definition (song),'' is a
reaction to hip-hop's fascination with death, dedicated to both Tupac Shakur and the Notorious B.I.G., with a chorus that gives a nod to Boogie Down
Productions' ''Stop the Violence.'' ''Children's Story'' is a re-imagination of the Slick Rick original, featuring Mos Def cautioning against materialism. The
second single, ''Respiration,'' featuring Common, includes a Hi-Tek produced beat that samples Don Randi's ''The Fox'' and another from the hip-hop
documentary Style Wars. The track offers a melancholy ode to city life, with references to organic life functions such as breathing, eating and sleeping,
but with an ominous edge, as Kweli raps about ''sitting on shitty steps/we stooped to new lows, hell froze/the night the city slept.'' The album peaked at
No. 53 on the Billboard Top 200 and No. 13 on the Hip-Hop Albums chart, but has become considered a classic since then.
1. Intro [Explicit]
2. Astronomy (8th Light) [feat. Weldon Irvine] [Explicit]
3. Definition [Explicit]
4. Re:Definition [Explicit]
5. Children's Story [Explicit]
6. Brown Skin Lady [Explicit]
7. B Boys Will B Boys [Explicit]
8. K.O.S. (Determination) [feat. Vinia Mojica] [Explicit]
9. Hater Players [feat. Apani Emcee] [Explicit]
10. Yo Yeah [Explicit]
11. Respiration [feat. Common] [Explicit]
12. Thieves In The Night [Explicit]
13. Twice Inna Lifetime [feat. Punch] [Explicit]