Black Moon - Enta Da Stage Remixes (2XLP) (Vinyl) - UrbanVinylStore

Black Moon - Enta Da Stage Remixes (2XLP) (Vinyl)

Double vinyl LP pressing. Composed of members Buckshot, 5ft, and DJ Evil Dee, Black Moon simultaneously kicked off and defined the rap renaissance of New York with the release of Enta Da Stage in 1993. Whereas plenty of earlier groups had spit rage-filled rhymes to tear down the world's unjust establishments, no one had evoked brooding pathos or introspective anger quite like Black Moon. Underground hip-hop might have been dominated by the sunny sound of G-Funk when Enta Da Stage dropped, but from then on the scene turned to the dark side. Black Moon was rising. The story of Black Moon, alongside their peers Biggie, Big L, Nas, Kool G Rap, and Wu Tang, reminds us that the bleakest times produce the most profound agents of cultural change. And as we stand at the precipice of a new age of anxiety, Enta Da Stage has never been more relevant... or more necessary. Although Black Moon would go on to release three more albums - and it's members would go on to greatness with Da Beatminerz, Boot Camp Klik, and various solo projects - Enta Da Stage remains the perfect distillation of tight lyrical menace, rowdy crew hooks, stripped down breaks, and deep basslines on all of it's fourteen tracks. Although Enta Da Stage might stand in the shadow of East Coast albums such as Enter the Wu- Tang (36 Chambers), Illmatic, Liquid Swords, Ready to Die, Only Built 4 Cuban Linx, and The Infamous, history will remember that Enta Da Stage preceded those releases. To understand Enta Da Stage is to understand the origin and the spirit of New York hip-hop once and for all.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. How Many Emcee's (Must Get Dissed) (DJ Evil Dee Remix)
  2. Act Like You Want It (F.A.P. Mix)
  3. Shit Iz Real (Buckshot's New Vocal)
  4. Son Get Wrec (DJ Evil Dee Remix)
  5. U Da Man (DJ Evil Dee Remix)
  6. Buckshot's Freestyle Joint
  7. Fuck It Up (Rugged and Ruff Mix)
  8. I Got Cha Opin (Remix)
  9. Buck Em Down (Da Beatminerz Remix)
  10. Murder MC's (B-Side Vocal)
  11. Six Feet Deep
  12. Reality (Killing Every)
  13. Who Got Da Props- - MW Smooth Mix