Black Milk - Album Of The Year [2LP] (Vinyl) - UrbanVinylStore

Black Milk - Album Of The Year [2LP] (Vinyl)

Far from a melancholic work, Album of the Year once again sees Black Milk working to break new ground in hip hop production, and to both refine and redefine his sound. While continuing to construct the skeletons of the tracks on his same trusted AKAI MPC-2000 XL that he's been using for years, he now employs a team of studio musicians and session players to add new layers of fat and muscle to his songs, with most of the players' parts composed by the artist himself. A broad range of influence shines through in the tracks, with tinges of rock, reggae, and afrobeat joining his trademark hip hop bangers.

Other than the heavy contributions from both members of his live band (vocalist/keyboardist AB and drummer Daru Jones), the album exclusively features players and vocalists from his hometown of Detroit, including vocalist Melanie Rutherford, bassist Tim Shellaberger, and the versatile horn player and string arranger Sam Beaubien (who arranged horns and strings on Mayer Hawthorne's A Strange Arrangement). The few guest raps are provided by Royce Da 5'9'' (Slaughterhouse), Elzhi, and Danny Brown.

1. 365
2. Welcome (Gotta Go)
3. Keep Going
4. Oh Girl feat. AB
5. Deadly Medley feat. Royce Da 5'9 & Elzhi
6. Distortion feat. Melanie Rutherford
7. Over Again feat. MOnical Blaire
8. Round Of Applause
9. Black And Brown/Mad Rapper Skit feat. Danny Brown
10. Warning (Keep Bouncing)
11. Gospel Psychedelic Rock
12. Closed Chapter feat. Mr. Porter