A Certain Ratio - Mind Made Up [2LP] (Purple Colored Vinyl, limited) - UrbanVinylStore

A Certain Ratio - Mind Made Up [2LP] (Purple Colored Vinyl, limited)

Mute are delighted to announce the reissue of Mind Made Up, the 2008 album from A Certain Ratio.

There's something very gratifying about a band that have continued to make music throughout a long career without catering to anyone...and that's exactly what A Certain Ratio have done since their debut appeared on Factory Records back in 1979. They've shifted from their postpunk roots to a glorious celebration of funk and rhythm that's been hugely influential. Mind Made Up is both a natural progression of the band's sound and a return to their roots. Considering it's their 15th album, it sounds remarkably fresh. It helps that the whole thing was recorded pretty much live after minimal rehearsals and this is a band that know each other inside and out after all this time. There's an excellent, immediate opening track in ''I Feel Light,'' it's tightly wound riff and punchy rhythmic crispness as clear a calling card as ever for the group, but at the same time there's a further ominousness in the arrangement that feels well earned by this point. Mind Made Up is another solid and funky album from A Certain Ratio, which hits the mark more than it misses.

1. I Feel Light
2. Down Down Down
3. Everything Is Good
4. Way to Escape
5. Rialto 2006
6. Mind Made Up
7. Teri
8. Bird to the Ground
9. Starlight
10.Which Is Reality?
11. Skunk
12. Very Busy Man