Leon Bridges - Coming Home [LP] (180 Gram, ) - UrbanVinylStore

Leon Bridges - Coming Home [LP] (180 Gram, )

Leon Bridges is the 'out of almost nowhere' story that only comes along once in a while, and his buzz continues to grow authentically and consistently.

It was only last summer that Leon was washing dishes and signing open mics in his hometown Fort Worth, TX. One of those open mics was attended by Austin Jenkins and Josh Block of the notable indie band White Denim who were absolutely floored by Leon's voice, songs, and creative vision.

They soon after set-up shop in a makeshift studio and recorded the album's opener ''Coming Home'' completely live to tape. This first take is exactly what you hear opening the album. The remaining 9 songs followed in a burst of creativity and inspiration.

Leon was the breakout artist of this year's SXSW, and performed to capacity crowds at A-level events including Heartbreaker at Willie Nelson's ranch, the Gorilla-vs-Bear HypeHotel showcase, Spotify House and Saint David's Church.

His soulful, movement based performances and adept backing band garnered strong reviews from a variety of top-level media including the New York Times, Billboard and Grantland amongst many others.

So successful was Bridges's festival experience, he was awarded the prestigious 2015 Grulke Prize for Developing US Act.

Bridges, a trained choreographer and dancer, is celebrated for his strong live presence. Fans have shown up in droves for his solo concerts; his New York City show at Mercury Lounge sold out in exactly one minute, followed by another sold-out show at Troubadour in Los Angeles. Leon will return to New York City for a Bowery Ballroom show on June 23rd which sold out in six minutes flat and a show at Music Hall of Williamsburg, also sold out.

Track Listings

1. Coming Home

2. Better Man

3. Brown Skin Girl

4. Smooth Sailin'

5. Shine

6. Lisa Sawyer

7. Flowers

8. Pull Away

9. Twistin' & Groovin'

10. River