Box Tops - Best OfÉSoul Deep [CD] (import) - UrbanVinylStore

Box Tops - Best OfÉSoul Deep [CD] (import)

The Box Tops were one of the more outstanding groups of the late '60s and early '70s. This compilation
includes all their top hits and some songs that should have been hits. They are one of the most intiguing
groups and ''The Letter'' one of the imperishable, if brief, pop classics of that decade. Their lead singer,
Alex Chilton, was just 16 when they recorded ''The Letter''. He left the group, still only 19. The group broke
up in early 1975, and reorganized with a new lineup 18 years later as Big Star. They produced a style that
foreshadowed the alternative rock of the 1980s and 1990s and with Big Star they reached the 'cult' status.
R.E.M. and the Replacements, as well as other popular bands, cited the group as an influence.

1. The Letter
2. Neon Rainbow
3. Happy Rainbow
4. Cry Like A Baby
5. Fields Of Clover
6. Choo Choo Train
7. She Shot A Hole In My Soul
8. People Gotta Talk
9. I Met Her In Church
10. Sweet Cream Ladies, Forward March
11. Together
12. I Must Be The Devil
13. Soul Deep
14. I Shall Be Released
15. (The) Happy Song
16. Turn On A Dream
17. I See Only Sunshine
18. You Keep Tightening Up On Me