Wilma Archer - A Western Circular [LP] (Clear Vinyl, 12x12 insert, dow - UrbanVinylStore

Wilma Archer - A Western Circular [LP] (Clear Vinyl, 12x12 insert, download, limited, indie-retail exclusive)

A Western Circular is Will Archer's debut under his new nom-de-plume, following early EPs and an album under the now-retired Slime moniker. On A Western Circular, Archer has uncovered new depths and forged an invigorating singular sound - supple and multi-layered, honoring his acoustic heritage and influence, while building a sonic universe that commands contemporary references to everything from Frank Zappa to Yasuaki Shimuzu, Robert Wyatt to Arthur Russell.
An album that's been in the works for the past half-decade, A Western Circular is a bold, reflective piece that directly relates to Archer's personal experiences of life and death, centered on one particular week where they breathed with equal intensity. The record's themes of greed, love and loyalty all relate back to that specific time. Inspired by author John Fante, A Western Circular is a spiritual voyage through life's pushing and pulling: finding beauty in the rough, sadness in the bright. Ostensibly, it's a poignant reflection on the duality of the human condition.
Within A Western Circular lies an exciting and varied crew of guest artists including MF DOOM, Samuel T. Herring (Future Islands), Sudan Archives, and Laura Groves, all contributing vocals to his rich, dextrous compositions. These collaborations are the by-product of several years of writing and producing.
1. Western Circular
2. Scarecrow
3. Last Sniff with MF DOOM
4. Killing Crab
5. The Boon with Samuel T. Herring
6. Cheater with Sudan Archives
7. Cures & Wounds
8. Decades with Samuel T. Herring &
Laura Groves
9. Ugly Feelings (Again)
10. Worse Off